Home Politics Assembly Election 2023: Voting on February 16 in Tripura, 27 in Meghalaya and Nagaland

Assembly Election 2023: Voting on February 16 in Tripura, 27 in Meghalaya and Nagaland

by Trend News
2 minutes read
Election Commission of India.

The Election Commission has announced the dates for the assembly elections in Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura. Polling in Tripura will be held on February 16, Meghalaya and Nagaland on February 27. Counting of votes will take place in all the states on March 2. The notification for the Tripura elections will be issued on January 21 and the last date for filing nominations is January 30. On the other hand, voting for Meghalaya and Nagaland elections will be held on February 27.

It was told in the press conference of the Election Commission that in the last elections in all the three states, the participation of women voters was more than that of men. These are examples for the country. Talking about the preparations for the elections in the states, the Election Commission said that it will be our priority to conduct elections peacefully in all the three states.

Ways to avoid fake news

The Election Commission has made a plan to deal with fake news, the Election Commission said that we are also ready to deal with fake news, special preparations have been made for this.

The five-year terms of the assemblies of Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura will end on March 12, March 15 and March 22 and new assemblies have to be constituted before that period.

Earlier, an entire team of the Election Commission had visited the states to review the poll preparedness and held meetings with the representatives of political parties besides taking stock of the security arrangements.

Whose government is in the three states?

There is a BJP government in Tripura. In the 2018 elections, out of 60 seats in the state, the BJP had won 35 seats. Whereas the Communist Party of India (Marxist) could win only 16 seats. The BJP had thrown out Manik Sarkar, who was ruling for 25 years.

The Congress emerged as the single largest party in the 2018 assembly elections in Meghalaya, but could not succeed in forming the government. Elections were held on 59 assembly seats in Meghalaya, Congress won 21 seats. NPP got 19 seats and BJP got 2 UDP got 6 seats. The BJP had formed an alliance with the National People’s Party. In Nagaland, the BJP is in government in alliance with the National Democratic Progressive Party.

You may also like


Stay up to date on the latest trending news stories with our comprehensive coverage of current events, politics, tech, sports, entertainment, business, and more.



Contact us: [email protected]

Copyright © 2023 Trend News – All Right Reserved

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More